Economically reasonable: high-quality solar grade silicon can be produced cost-effectively

JPM Silicon – high-valued and cost-effective solar grade silicon

The production costs of solar silicon can be significantly reduced by using our technology. This is possible due to a technological change from arc furnace approach to the much more efficient microwave oven. In doing so, we start with the selection and preparation of suitable raw materials. The combination of raw materials-, process- and application know-how results in an overall concept for the cost-effective production of high-quality solar silicon.

Silicon as the raw material of a whole industry

The silicon resulted from the arc furnace is the raw material for the production of solar silicon. Quartz and coal react to silicon at temperatures above 2000°C. Silicon is used in the chemical industry as a raw material or as an alloying element in the aluminum and steel industries. For the use of silicon for the solar cells production, it needs to be purified by using complex methods. From about 98% to more than 99.9999 %. The purification of the raw silicon needs great technical and economic efforts that are based on methods developed in the middle of the last century.

Today`s production of solar silicon – like in the 1950s

The purification of the raw silicon is made by using hydrogen chloride. Silicon and hydrogen chloride yield to a gaseous compound (silane). Afterwards it has to be distilled and the necessary purity of >99.9999% is obtained. The final step in getting the solar silicon is the recovery of silicon in the Siemens reactor. The reactor was named after Siemens although the method had been used already in 1950s. The process for the production of solar silicon is very energy- and cost-intensive.

JPM Silicon pursues a radically innovative approach

JPM Silicon is a driver for an innovative, simple and cost-effective technology for the production of solar silicon. The equipment is getting smaller, cleaner and more efficient than before. Input products for the production of solar silicon is raw silicon or quartz and coal. That is why JPM Silicon starts from here by transformation high-purity raw materials into solar silicon using a simple but efficient method. JPM Silicons in the world unique combination of raw material and process know-how will lead to an unbeatable advantage in solar silicon production and therefore to cleaner energy

Start typing and press Enter to search

Wirtschaftlich: Hochwertiges Solarsilizium kostengünstig produzieren

JPM Silicon – hochwertiges & kostengünstiges Solarsilizium

Mit unserer Technologie lassen sich die Herstellungskosten von Solarsilizium deutlich senken. Möglichst wird das durch einen Technologiewandel vom Lichtbogenofen zum deutlich effizienteren Mikrowellenofen. Dabei beginnen wir bereits mit der Auswahl und Aufbereitung geeigneter Rohstoffe. Erst in der Kombination aus Rohstoff-, Prozess- und Anwendungsknowhow entsteht ein einzigartiges Gesamtkonzept zur kostengünstigen Produktion von hochwertigem Solarsilizium.

Silizium als Rohstoff einer ganzen Industrie

Der Rohstoff für die Herstellung von Solarsilizium ist Rohsilizium aus dem Lichtbogenofen. Quarz und Kohle reagieren bei mehr als 2.000°C zu Silizium. Genutzt wird das Rohsilizium als Rohstoff in der chemischen Industrie oder als Legierungselement in der Aluminium- und Stahlindustrie. Um als Rohstoff für Solarzellen zu dienen, muss das Rohsilizium zunächst aufwändig gereinigt werden. Von rund 98 % auf mehr als 99,9999 %. Die Reinigung des Rohsiliziums ist dabei nur unter großem technischen und wirtschaftlichen Aufwand möglich und beruht auf Verfahren, deren Ursprünge bereits in der Mitte des letzten Jahrhunderts liegen.

Solarsiliziumproduktion heute – wie bereits in den 1950er Jahren

Die Reinigung des Rohsiliziums zu Solarsilizium erfolgt unter Einsatz von Chlorwasserstoff. Silizium und Chlorwasserstoff ergeben eine gasförmige Verbindung (Silan). Diese wird wiederum destilliert und erhält so die notwendige Reinheit von >99,9999%. Den letzten Schritt zum Solarsilizium bildet die Rückgewinnung des Siliziums im Siemens-Reaktor. Der Reaktor wurde dabei zum Namensgeber des bereits in den 1950er Jahren genutzten Verfahrens. Der Prozess zur Produktion von Solarsilizium ist sehr energie- und kostenintensiv.

JPM Silicon verfolgt einen radikal innovativen Ansatz

JPM Silicon ist Innovationstreiber einer einfachen und kostengünstigen Technologie zur Produktion von Solarsilizium. Die Anlagen werden kleiner, sauberer und effizienter als bisher möglich. Ausgangsprodukte für die Herstellung von Solarsilizium sind Rohsilizium bzw. Quarz und Kohle. Daher beginnt JPM Silicon bereits dort und setzt hochreine Rohstoffe in einem einfachen, aber effizienten Prozess zu Solarsilizium um. Das weltweit einzigartige Rohstoff- und Prozessknowhow von JPM Silicon ergibt in seiner Kombination einen unschlagbar günstigen Ansatz zur Produktion von Solarsilizium und somit für die Energie der Zukunft.

Start typing and press Enter to search