Efficient: Simple assessment of raw materials for the silicon industry

A question of raw material

The net value added in the production of silicon metal depends on the quality and availability of its raw materials carbon and quartz. This logic is valid throughout the entire supply and value chain – including the silicon manufacturer, raw material traders, and the mining companies.

High-quality raw materials are rare

When searching for new raw material sources, obtaining an early reliable prediction of the raw materials quality is vital. After all, the operator ‘s primary goal is to mine good quality resources over many years. Prompted by the silicon manufacturers to deliver raw materials of demonstrable
quality, the trade fraction applies the same standards.

Raw material analysis: a cost factor or compromise solution?

SiO reactivity is the most common evaluation method to determine the quality of raw materials. This method allows for a rather essential, but not necessarily reliable indication of the expected silicon yield. Statements on silicon quality cannot be derived using this method. An accurate assessment of raw materials is only possible on an industrial scale covering a few hundred tons of raw material, which is complicated and expensive.

New precision in raw material testing

During the JPM Raw Material Test, an actual silicon sample is produced from the raw material sample in our microwave furnace. The thus drawn sample equals the melting result on the industrial standard of the SAF (submerged arc furnace).

Based on the obtained silicon sample analysis of the impurities values of iron, aluminum, calcium, and titanium are done by ICP-MS for a precise assessment of the expected silicon quality. XRD analysis determines the expected silicon yield of the tested raw materials. For this method, a few kilograms of the raw material are sufficient.

Case study: SiO reactivity is non-conclusive 

The exclusive focus on the SiO reactivity leads to the assumption that the alternative coal would lead to similar results in production. Observation of the achievable silicon grades clarifies that the El Correjon produces a more economical result due to an obtainable increase in silicon quality. This economically relevant statement is made possible by the JPM Raw Material Test

Downloads

JPM Raw Material Test

Start typing and press Enter to search

Effektiv: Einfache Bewertung von Rohstoffen für die Siliziumindustrie.

Eine Frage des Rohstoffs

Die Wertschöpfung bei der Herstellung von Siliziummetall hängt von Qualität und Ausbeute der genutzten Rohstoffe, Kohle und Quarz ab. Diese Logik gilt weltweit für die gesamte Liefer- und Wertschöpfungskette – vom Siliziumhersteller über den Rohstoffhandel bis hin zum Minenbetreiber.

Hochwertige Rohstoffe sind knapp

Bei der Suche nach neuen Rohstofflagerstätten ist es bedeutend, möglichst früh eine verlässliche Aussage zur Rohstoffqualität zu erhalten, schließlich möchte der Betreiber über viele Jahre Rohstoffe in guter Qualität abbauen. Gleiches gilt für den Handel, der von den Siliziumherstellern aufgefordert ist nachweisbar hochwertige Rohstoffe zu liefern.

Rohstoffbewertung: Entweder teuer oder Kompromisslösung

Die Rohstoffqualität wird bislang meistens anhand einer Messung der SiO-Reaktivität bewertet. Diese Methode ermöglicht eine eher grundsätzliche, jedoch nicht zwingend präzise Indikation der zu erwartenden Siliziumausbeute. Aussagen zur Siliziumqualität lassen sich anhand dieser Methode nicht ableiten. Eine präzise Bewertung der Rohstoffe ist nur im industriellen Maßstab mit einigen hundert Tonnen möglich. Das ist aufwändig und teuer.

Neue Präzision bei Rohstofftests 

Beim JPM Test wird die Rohstoffprobe in einem speziellen Mikrowellenofen zu Silizium umgesetzt. Die so erzeugte Stichprobe gleicht dem Schmelzergebnis im industriellen Maßstab des Lichtbogenofens. Damit lässt sich anhand einer ICP-MS-Analyse der chemischen Elemente* Aluminium, Calcium, Eisen und Titan die zu erwartenden Siliziumqualität präzise bewerten. Die zu erwartende Siliziumausbeute des getesteten Rohstoffs wird durch eine XRD-Analyse ermittelt. Dafür reichen wenige Kilogramm des Rohstoffs.

SiO-Reaktivität ist alleine nicht aussagekräftig 

Die ausschließliche Betrachtung über die SiO-Reaktivität führt zu der Annahme, dass eine Alternativkohle zu einem ähnlichen Produktionsergebnis führt. Nach der Betrachtung der erzielbaren Siliziumqualität wird jedoch klar, dass die El Correjon ein wirtschaftlicheres Ergebnis produziert, da hier ein höhere Siliziumqualität erzielt wird. Diese wirtschaftlich relevante Aussage wird erst durch den JPM Test möglich.

Downloads

JPM Raw Material Test

Start typing and press Enter to search